Map of Rethymno

Rethymno map and facts about Rethymno

Rethymno, is one of the four prefectures of Crete, located west of Heraklion and the East from Chania, to the north is washed by the Cretan Sea and to the south by the Libyan Sea. Rethymno has an area of ​1,496 square kilometers and a population of 69,258 inhabitants. Its capital is Rethymno. Administratively divided into four provinces: Agiou Vasileiou with capital Spili, Amari with capital Amaris , Mylopotamos with capital Perama and Rethymnou with its capital Rethymno.

The economy of the county is rural and tourism. Main product of the area is the carob. Other economic factors are farming, grapes, wine, fruit, citrus and peanuts. The industry is not developed, while trade is concentrated mainly in the capital of the prefecture. From the existing craft enterprises recorded mainly oil production, soap, leather and food processing companies..