Map of Lasithi

Lasithi map and facts about Lasithi

The Lassithi prefecture covers the eastern part of Crete. It borders to the west with Heraklion, to the north is washed by the Cretan Sea, to the east by the Carpathian Sea and to the south by the Libyan Sea. Lasithi has an area of 1,823 square kilometers and a population of 77,962 inhabitants. Around Lassithi there are many islands. The main ones are: Spinalonga, Gaidouronisi, psira, and Paximadi. Its capital is Agios Nikolaos. Administratively divided into four provinces: Ierapetra, Lasithi , Mirabello with its capital Agios Nikolaos and Sitia.